Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Bogus email from order-update@amazon.com

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    5,685

    Default Bogus email from order-update@amazon.com

    Just got an email from that site.

    Subject: Your Cancellation (17-4833-4948)

    It's supposed to be a cancellation for some book I never ordered.

    There was a link they wanted me to click on in the text of the message (which I didn't do).

    Did a search before removing the email and found this:


    Waiting for a delivery from Amazon.com? Well, be careful if you receive a notification in your email - as it could be that hackers are trying to trick you into infecting your computer.

    We're intercepting a wave of forged emails which claim to come from order-update@amazon.com, but unlike regular emails from the dot com giant they have a malicious file attached designed to run a Trojan horse on your computer.
    and..

    Sophos detects the attached file as Troj/CryptBx-Zp and Mal/CryptBox-A.
    http://nakedsecurity.sophos.com/2010...email-malware/

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    5,685

    Default

    The search on the net shows that this thing has been around since 2009. It must be making a resurgence again.

    The text of mine looked like this, with the order no. hyperlinked to their malicious site.

    Dear Customer,

    Your order has been successfully canceled. For your reference, here's a summary of your order:

    You just canceled order 13-8543-3980 placed on May 2, 2012.

    Status: CANCELED

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    864

    Default

    Whenever I get an email from a company i do business with, if I'm the least bit suspicious, I go to the email properties and see where it's really coming from, prior to actually opening the email. I've even resolved the IP address if I'm still not satisfied.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    49,179

    Default

    I never check my orders via an email link. I always go directly to the site I ordered it from

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    9,751

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by bmore_ken View Post
    I never check my orders via an email link. I always go directly to the site I ordered it from
    So do I. And legitimate emails rarely begin "Dear Customer".

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 1997
    Location
    Clarksville
    Posts
    5,482

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by bmore_ken View Post
    I never check my orders via an email link. I always go directly to the site I ordered it from
    Absolutely the best policy. I do that for my bank and Paypal also.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Loch Raven Blvd
    Posts
    8,369

    Default

    Other versions include:

    "Your Verizon Wireless phone bill for $1,182"

    or

    "Your SouthWest Airlines seat assignment for your flight"

    in hopes that the spamee has either a VW account or is flying on SW soon, and they will readily click through to the virus/malware site.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Govans - Baltimore City
    Posts
    4,173

    Default

    sounds like you in a heap-o-trouble!

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Parkville, MD
    Posts
    1,320

    Default

    I got 3 of these emails from "Amazon" yesterday.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    5,685

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Snoopy71 View Post
    I got 3 of these emails from "Amazon" yesterday.
    I got 2 more since I first posted this.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
The Baltimore Sun Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Search/Archive | Feedback | Contact Information | DC50tv |
Baltimore Sun | Chicago Tribune | Daily Press | Hartford Courant | LA Times | Orlando Sentinel | Sun Sentinel
The Morning Call | The Virginia Gazette
Baltimore Sun, 501 N. Calvert Street, P.O. Box 1377, Baltimore, MD 21278