Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Pickle20

Kayaking the Patapsco

47 posts in this topic

Bowie-Bruce, I am hoping you chime in!

I am planning on kayaking the Patapsco tomorrow from Woodstock to Daniels. Nothing crazy, that part of the river is flat water for the most part from what I can tell (I have never done it before although I am running it with people who have) and I am wondering what I should expect after all this rain we've had.

Should we do it? Is it too dangerous? Would the rain we've had make the run more entertaining?

Any help would be appreciated!

That stretch of the Patapsco should be a good segment for you to run, given all the rain we have had lately. Nothing too crazy in terms of rapids; your most interesting stretch of whitewater (depending upon the river level) will come just before the Davis tunnel portion of the railroad tracks. A little upriver from that, you will pass by a small island--one of my favorite camping spots; just don't tell the rangers. :D

Put in at Woodstock can be a little tricky, as I suspect that fairly steep river bank will be slick. Take out at Daniels is a breeze; DNR constructed a gravel/step pathyway a few years back.

When you're feeling more confident, you can run the river from below Daniels Dam down to Ellicott City--a favorite segment for Alienrace and I. I've done some unplanned swimming there before.

Enjoy! You would be hard pressed to find a better way to spend an afternoon.

I haven't done that stretch but the part from the avalon area to the boat ramp in baltimore highlands is pretty bad. It gets shallow and very mucky.

The gunpowder is a lot more fun, deep clean water and a lot nicer scenery when it warms up. All those college girls tubing down the river in skimpy bathing suits!

I did the codorus run a couple weeks ago. It was cold but the river was at a decent level for some exciting white water.