Jump to content



Recent headlines from The Baltimore Sun

Photo
- - - - -

Rivera the Winner!!


  • Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 SNAFU

SNAFU

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 3,314 posts

Posted 13 September 2013 - 12:00 AM

How can you be the pitcher of record, when you weren't even in the game, when your team went ahead for good?

Rivera gets the win instead of the save because Robertson, the real pitcher of record, pitched lousy, which is true. But still, something doesn't sound right here.

#2 Jeebus

Jeebus

    Molon Labe

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 13,514 posts

Posted 13 September 2013 - 05:56 AM

Rules is rules - 10.17 2 ©

© The official scorer shall not credit as the winning pitcher a relief pitcher who is ineffective in a brief appearance, when at least one succeeding relief pitcher pitches effectively in helping his team maintain its lead. In such a case, the official scorer shall credit as the winning pitcher the succeeding relief pitcher who was most effective, in the judgment of the official scorer.

Rule 10.17© Comment: The official scorer generally should, but is not required to, consider the appearance of a relief pitcher to be ineffective and brief if such relief pitcher pitches less than one inning and allows two or more earned runs to score (even if such runs are charged to a previous pitcher). Rule 10.17(B) Comment provides guidance on choosing the winning pitcher from among several succeeding relief pitchers.



#3 Buford

Buford

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 2,862 posts

Posted 13 September 2013 - 07:53 AM

How can you be the pitcher of record, when you weren't even in the game, when your team went ahead for good?

Rivera gets the win instead of the save because Robertson, the real pitcher of record, pitched lousy, which is true. But still, something doesn't sound right here.


Too bad they didn't have a guy with 19 wins..Maybe Giardi should've pitched to notch win #1.

#4 SNAFU

SNAFU

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 3,314 posts

Posted 13 September 2013 - 09:22 AM

Too bad they didn't have a guy with 19 wins..Maybe Giardi should've pitched to notch win #1.


Hell, he could of brought someone up from the minors to get his first ML win! Ridiculous!

#5 Jimmy Jazz

Jimmy Jazz

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 11,480 posts

Posted 13 September 2013 - 11:12 AM

Rules is rules - 10.17 2 ©


This doesn't have to apply though, it's at the scorers discretion. Rivera could've just as easily been given a save and Robertson a win and no one would've blinked.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users