Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
PinkFlamingo

Stop saying "Thank You for your service" to vets

26 posts in this topic

"Some veterans believe that saying “thank you for your service” is almost a way for civilians to massage away some of the guilt at not participating themselves."

Interesting, probably could be applied to a lot of the righteous ones on this forum  :)

I never thought it was appropriate to say that. I am a veteran and I've had people say it to me before. When ever hear it, I always think to myself, 'I lived in Hawaii for 3 years and got a free education. I should be thanking you'.

Everything becomes rote if you say it enough. It's the definition of rote.  If you care about vets stay informed about what your government is doing. Stand up if you see Americans being put into danger for mercenary purposes.  If you have a friend whose kid is in a VA hospital, visit. Take the family a meal. Invest yourself somehow if you really care about vets. 

I agree with this part and the bold especially:

Heaven forbid you don’t recognize the troops in a positive light! It’s insane that veterans are placed on such a high pedestal today; you’d be a social outcast if you in any way disparaged our service! It’s absurd…Time for a dose of truth: Not all veterans are heroes. (I can hear you gasp and feel your incredulity from here, but hear me out.) Like any organization, we have our screw-ups, our opportunists and people that joined for the wrong reasons. The simple psychology behind it is this: we don’t feel like we did anything special.

I wouldn't say it ever offended me but I always felt awkward when people would thank me.  I tried to never wear the uniform in public.  I hated that when I came home on midtour leave from Afghanistan, I was paraded through the Atlanta airport by some USO guy ringing a bell while people clapped.  I wanted to strangle the USO guy and then disappear into the floor.

Edited by Jimmy Jazz