PinkFlamingo

Carroll Co Schools looking to ban Confederate flag clothing

94 posts in this topic

Seems some are going to try the !st on this one. However, judging by the rules laid out in the handbook about what kids can and can not wear...they don't have a leg to stand on.

Just my opinion, and I'm no lawyer, but if they don't have a uniform dress code and allow students to wear what they please they may have a fight on their hands from those that want to wear that clothing. They can say someone else's clothing offends them and demand it be banned as well. It could be pro-Hispanic, pro-Muslim, pro-abortion rights, whatever.

So unless they ban all clothing which can be construed as making a statement, whatever that statement may be, I can see it being an issue. If they want to go that way and ban clothing with certain emblems or making statements, just go to uniforms and nobody can make statements or complain about someone else doing it.

4 minutes ago, Woodbuchr said:

Just my opinion, and I'm no lawyer, but if they don't have a uniform dress code and allow students to wear what they please they may have a fight on their hands from those that want to wear that clothing. They can say someone else's clothing offends them and demand it be banned as well. It could be pro-Hispanic, pro-Muslim, pro-abortion rights, whatever.

So unless they ban all clothing which can be construed as making a statement, whatever that statement may be, I can see it being an issue. If they want to go that way and ban clothing with certain emblems or making statements, just go to uniforms and nobody can make statements or complain about someone else doing it.

Most teen clothing “makes a statement” of some sort. 

1 minute ago, PinkFlamingo said:

Most teen clothing “makes a statement” of some sort. 

True. So that's where the uniforms come in unless they want to accept all clothing.

On 1/12/2018 at 7:55 AM, PinkFlamingo said: